3 things to do move forward

A brief essay on my personal experience to discover the things i am interested in. #

Story #

Almost a decade ago, I was hooked to web designing. Learning HTML on the go, using all the scarce resources available to me. At that time, I was using the Dial Up to browse the WWW. It wasn’t simply fun, it was addictive.

Few years afterwards, I “gave up” web designing and spent more time on PC gaming - mostly with RTS (Wacraft III) and FPS (Counter-Strike). In addition to PC gaming, I was also into web browser game, notably, [ogame](www.ogame.org). Those 3 games, all together, consumed a lot of my free time (and study time) but had a small contribution to shaping my journey.

In University, I was exposed to more opportunities other than gaming. The latter became history and I was focused on the traditional mindset of focusing on studies and building up my CV.

My Involvement in university student life was definitely very high and it was through [AIESEC](www.aiesec.org) which basically gave me several key exposures in life. I have a few past posts about AIESEC on my blog which are mostly descriptive.

Thinking backward #

Web designing has been a fundamental key to unlock a deeper interest for efficiency, entrepreneurship & productivity.
Gaming was the reason why I believed in the beauty of teamwork, strategic thinking and intelligence.
AIESEC has been the platform for my leadership development which is in itself, broad and indepth, entrepreneurial mindset and unleashing a greater vision for the future, including my personal aspiration for a better tomorrow.

What can you do? #

1. Be a random opportunist. #

We are often tempted to plan ahead for everything, especially when it comes to job seeking. We are expected to take an internship in this firm in order to get some valuable exposure to work in that firm, isn’t it?
In itself, this is being an opportunist - sometimes, no guarantee that any of those carefully planned tactics would work out, but we hope they would.

So, plan. But, dont limit yourself. Sometimes, what is disconnected from your plan are the most beautiful tricks of life.

Be random, seize random opportunities.

2. Eat the scorpion. #

In Productivity Management, we look at “Eat the Frog” which means to complete the most unpleasant task first, especially if it is urgent+important.

On the other hand, Eat the scorpion translates into doing what matters first, although it might be boring, unpleasant, time-consuming, you get the picture here.

Writing an article always require me to eat the frog. Having to follow the most traditional mindsets on earth which forbids me from being myself, are similar to eating the scorpion. Just close your eyes and eat.

Just do what you have to do. It will be over soon.

3. Write it all down #

You know what is a CV?

Most companies would ask you for a 1-page resume or at most, 2 pages for a CV. Give yourself your best shot at writing a n-pages CV, where n is equal to your age. Eventually, you may want to sum up your first 10 years of your life into a few lines. Haha.

This is hell of an exercise.

First it’s about trying to remember a lot of things. Second, you need to think what you’ve learnt from things you’ve done in the past (Remember, Connecting the dots?) and then using all those information, to discover more about who you are.

Asking for feedback from other people could work. Asking other people to actually question you, with open question, about things you’ve written down would help you even more.

So, What will you do next? #

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

On Learning A New Language - Part 2 of 3

In Part 1, I spoke about the personal challenges that I faced Find it [HERE](pascal89.svbtle.com/on-learning-a-new-language-1-of-3) I strongly believe that English is and will remain the world’s most powerful and used lingua franca for... Continue →