In 2014, I learnt those 3 lessons about life, myself and…

Understanding oneself is probably hard. Acknowledging what is right and what is less right is probably harder. This, however, is essential to growth. As a growth oriented individual - whether it is personally or professionally - I had a tough time in 2014 to unlock my growth potential. But on Christmas Day (25.12.14), I took some time to reflect on my past reflections. Those are my 3 take-aways for 2014,

1. Nobody Knows When It Is The Right Time #

*A combination of impatience, urgency to achieve results, solitude, and unpleasant housemates led me to make a critical decision this year. It would be tough to clearly weigh in which ones had the highest impact on my decisions. Nevertheless, I left Portugal to head back to Asia.

Whether it was the right time or not, I can’t tell. I’ve been through a roller-coaster of emotions, adventure, and challenges since I left Portugal. This year alone, I have been based in several locations. Whether now is the time to be in Asia is a question to which I am half-heartedly seeking the answer to.

2. People Will Default On You. #

This happened to me this year. It was a huge bomb which I didn’t anticipate. What doesn’t kill you, make your stronger…and in my case, smarter.

3. #

Trade-offs. Everywhere. All the time.

I gave up months of salary to take on debt and stress.

Time to repay.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Job. Career. Calling.

2 Key Take-Aways from a TED Talk & 3 Questions to Ask Yourself. # I recently watched a TED video featuring Stefan Sagmeister, a graphic designer from Austrian who closes his studio in New York every 7 years to take a sabbatical year.... Continue →