3 ‘2014’ Habits To Live Without

No Smartphone Notifications #

It is a very simple habit that I have started in 2013. First, I disabled all notifications from the various apps that I am using. Second, I set myself a specific time to check on my phone. Usually, it would be every time I take a “phone break” at a frequency of once every 2 hours.

I noticed that it is a relatively good habit to save time.

Maintain a To-Do List #

There is always something to do. Better write it down immediately on a to-do list. I have been a traditional to-do list taker but not very discipline in writing it down all the time.

Now, I’ve got a cool app called “Any.Do” which is a simple way of classifying my to-dos into Today, Tomorrow, Upcoming and Someday. I write everything almost immediately and using an app eliminate the needs to carry a pen and a notepad.

A to-do list helps to keep a visual reminder of what needs to be done and depending on your own to-do list method, knowing what has to be done first matters.

To be honest, I still carry the pen with me all the time though!

Care Less About What Other People Think #

The value of life is not measured by the number of Facebook Followers you have. Hahaha!

On a serious note, I believe that seeking the opinion of others is definitely important. Breaking free from the negative criticism from selfish individuals is a key to unleashing a stress free mental.

To build up the habit of recognising what matters to me when given opinions from others and eliminating the “distractions” impeding my progress.

Two-Minutes Rule #

I’m adding this fourth habit to my list,

If you can complete something in about two-minutes, do it.

It applies to all the 3 habits I’ve been talking about.
I try to reply to all my IMs messages in less than 2 minutes and if it is taking longer, I would reply in my next “phone break”. If I can eliminate a “to-do” from my list within 2 minutes, I would just do it and you know what? It is one thing less on the list to be bothered about at the end of the day! :)

Enjoy a new lifestyle. Build new habits and Break free! _^

 
1
Kudos
 
1
Kudos

Now read this

4 Lessons to share. Flea Market. Other Side Of The Table.

Today (Sunday), I went to the Flea Market in Porto. While it was not my first flea market, it certainly was my first in Portugal. And until today, I had never been on the other side of the table! The picture below taken of my first flea... Continue →