My First Week in Portugal

You Gotta Start Somewhere #

But where?

It has been a week now since I reached Porto. I flew all the way from Mauritius. And if you wanna know how far, click here. After a few hours of flight, including a brief stopover in Dubai, I reached Lisbon (the capital city of Portugal) and took a train straight to Porto where my new life journey really started in Europe.

Let me briefly share the challenges that I faced as well as the positive highlights.

Challenge #1 #

Meals are expensive in restaurant(s) and fast-food.
Therefore, Cook Your Own Meal.

(Btw, I’m an experimental entrepreneur who tries random stuffs when I have some free time.)

I experimented
DSC_0737.JPGIMG-20140401-WA0004.jpgIMG-20140329-WA0004.jpg

Tasted good enough to live until today :)

** What’s next? **
Try roasting a whole chicken in a electric oven. Giving myself a long time (6 months) to give it a try.

Challenge #2 #

It is Spring in Portugal but, the average temperature has been around 10°c and as a tropical guy, I AM NOT USED TO IT.

Surviving this “cold” temperature is in itself a challenge. And in the apartment where I live, a temperature outside is the same inside. Can’t escape the cold.

No bright side to this.

Challenge #3 #

I walk to work (Also walking back home). It takes 45 minutes approximately and well, I do have a downward slope and an upward slope to cover. Balancing out? Not really.

With the Challenge #2, it gets worse. And worst, when it is raining. Cold Wind + Rain + Cold Weather = AWEFUL SH*T

Bright side Saving money on gym, polluting less.

Challenge #5 #

Given too much sh*t in Challenge #3, I am skipping #4.

A lot of uncertainties because a lot of people (and documents) don’t speak (aren’t written in) English.

When new to a city, to a new country to be precised and to a new lifestyle, the least to wish for is communication. Fluid one.

Ok, that’s life starts at the end of your comfort zone.

Hoping to, #

Hey!

Stay Tune for Future Posts. #

 
5
Kudos
 
5
Kudos

Now read this

Job. Career. Calling.

2 Key Take-Aways from a TED Talk & 3 Questions to Ask Yourself. # I recently watched a TED video featuring Stefan Sagmeister, a graphic designer from Austrian who closes his studio in New York every 7 years to take a sabbatical year.... Continue →