SHAPE EUROPE 2014

From 4th to 6th September 2014, over 50 young leaders in their communities converged towards Lisbon for the conference themed “Entrepreneurship and Innovation in Europe.”

Being an aspiring entrepreneur and community innovator, I seized the chance to attend by hoping on the first train to Lisbon (Ok, it wasn’t the first train but still, it was a train.)
DSC_1359.JPG

Instead of story-telling what happened. I started thinking during my 3 hours train ride back to Porto what would be the ideal content to share. I am going to break down my thoughts into 4 points:

Bridging the inter-connection between Hubs. #

DSC_1371.JPG
The Global Shapers Community is growing fast. With over 300 hubs located all over the world, it is will soon reach 500 by the end of 2016 (my prediction).

What does this entail?

More young leaders being inter-connected. There’s a need for better platform to enable these inter-connections. Shape Europe 2014 is one of them and has been my first chance at this.

I believe we should find a way to really connect the hubs together.

Power is necessary. And it comes mostly from your inner will. #

Interacting with incredibly proactive Global Shapers made me realised how much will power they possess which is A LOT and that they are ready to accept the status quo in order to challenge it.

Given the nature of the Global Shapers’ activities and responsibilities, there is no doubt that many of us are full of energy and passion to follow and also execute their dreams.

Down to earth with their project, I really enjoyed listening to Shaper’s sharing about their project.

*This is call to action on my side. I need to have a project story to tell too :)

Best quote,

I am usually the last one to leave the party, but tonight I am the first to die.

I guess that will power is accompanied with some common sense (:

Entrepreneurship is not dead in Europe. #

I can’t remember how many Global Shapers are already running their own startups or are part of one. And yes, there a few Global Shapers who have already “sold” their companies and moved on to new adventures. A few have also startup ideas in mind. It’s just getting re-starting in Europe :)!

The Finance your startup panel sent me a reminder that money is always available to those who need it. But value creation, in my opinion, comes from your ability to use money as a fuel to move your vehicle (company/product/service) to more places ( or more users/customers/benefactors).

What else did I learn from this?

  1. You can always start something while working full-time.
  2. The earlier you start, the sooner you might discover your journey.
  3. The more you try, the closer to success you get. And you better define success!

Busy people #

DSC_1393.JPG

There is one recurring question and still bugs me.

Global Shapers are busy people. For sure!

Yet, how accessible most of us are?

Big doubts.

Conclusion #

Network. Friendship. Amazed. #

Attending SHAPE Europe 2014 has been a wonderful networking opportunity to establish new friendships and I was amazed by the spoiling from the organizers. From good food to great people, It was a conference to be remembered. Some kind of reminiscences of my past experience in AIESEC conferences (:

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

How I got over 500 names and email addresses in 3 hours…

I am going to share a very simply hack to all those of you who have the painful task(s) of entering tons of data (whether it is names, emails, etc) manually. Ready? Bear with me. The story. I was given the tedious tasks of manually... Continue →