AIESEC (Part 1 of 12) - The Confession

Why I joined AIESEC? #

I was introduced to AIESEC as a global organization, present all over the world. The main highlight has been the Management Internship, which is a Paid Internship for a certain period of time, in another country.

And in fact, I joined AIESEC because I wanted to go for the Management Traineeship.

What AIESEC (in University of Nottingham Malaysia Campus) used to be? #

AIESEC in my university widely known as “AIESEC in UNMC”, is similar to a startup structure. There was a founder who got two friends of his to join the adventure as co-founders (or founding members).

It was an organized mess. Everything was unclear, unknown and uncertain.

Stay Tune for a whole post about it

What was the fundamental shift? #

Unfortunately, I’m in no position of providing the most accurate answer. There are four reasons for me to say so:

  1. I am biased.
  2. It would require bringing together all the founding members and the key members of AIESEC in UNMC during its very early stage.
  3. There might be more than one “shift”.
  4. Are we looking from my perspective or from AIESEC in UNMC’s perspective - in terms of “shift”?

Last but not least, I want to summarise my perspective on the above.

As obvious as it can be, the shift in AIESEC in UNMC was caused by the “People”. Yes, no surprise. People come, People leave.

But what most wouldn’t agree on is,

I chose to stay when I was not wanted.

It probably made a big difference in AIESEC in UNMC’s early stages.

 
3
Kudos
 
3
Kudos

Now read this

5 books to read before 1st January 2015

2015 will soon be here and I am to admit (shamefully, sadly) that I am behind schedule in terms of readings. I accumulated a few books over the past few weeks. Here is my list: (1) Venture Deals - Be Smarter Than Your Lawyer and Venture... Continue →