8 hours without electricity and how I spent the hours

I live on an island, pretty remote from the rest of the world

Internet is my gate to the world

Yesterday, I spent the entire day without internet due to an 8 hours temporary power cut. It was most likely an unforeseen event for the utility company and a not so good news for me.

Yet, I took advantage of it.

Hour 1 #

Exercises

From push-ups to squats and quick sprint up the staircases. In total, I spent 45 min with 5 minutes break in between the push-ups and staircase sprints.

It was damn tiring.

Hour 2 #

Meditate

or something close to it.

Sat on my balcony and watched the blue sky. Listened to the birds and the sound of the wind blowing. I almost felt asleep at some point in time but I managed not to do so.

The most refreshing post-exercise exercise I ever did.

Hour 3 #

Nap

I felt asleep on the armchair on my balcony.

I woke up after half an hour and washed my face. It was a new day for me which was starting.

Hour 4 #

Notes to myself

A 50 minutes reflection on my self-awareness. My ability to see my world from the eye of an outsider became more reasonable. Unless I tell you what I do or how life is in my country for me. You will never know. And its worst if you knew how I used to live in Asia.

Don’t take your own life for granted. Don’t expects other to know. Tell them.

Hour 5-7 #

Reading. I have a few books on coaching and law which I took from the book shelves.

What is justice in today’s society? What should justice means to me?

Hour 8 #

Preparing dinner and dessert.

It had to be done, one hour earlier this time.

Life without electricity, from time to time, is refreshing. Finding the same thing to do without distraction can be a blessing to find appreciation in what you do.

 
0
Kudos
 
0
Kudos

Now read this

Save. Travel. Iterate.

This article is a personal sharing of Saving for Travels and then, iterating over & over again. As an avid traveler, I am taking a different steps nowadays, thanks to the economic crisis in Portugal. Below goes the simple article,... Continue →